A Wee Scottish Beastie’s pad

Just another random weblog

  • My DVD Playlist

    What's in the pile of DVDs and BluRays currently sitting next to the DVD player?

    • - Star Trek Voyager - Season 7
    • - Batman: Gotham Knight
    • - Into The Wild
    • - American Gangster
    • - Serenity
    • - Heroes - Season 2
    • - The Mist
  • Blog Stats

    • 37,538 hits

Woken with start

Posted by weehaggis on Sunday, May 6, 2007

You know that feeling when you’ve only been asleep for a few hours and you get woken up suddenly. Running around like the proverbial headless chicken… not quite knowing where I am….. not quite knowing what I’m doing…. but knowing that I should be doing something. Running round in a bit of a daze, then the realisation that the phone is ringing…… been ringing since I woke up…..fuuuuuuck!!! ……. its 4.32am. ….. I’d booked a taxi for 4.30 ……that must be him….again….fuuuuuuuck!!!!

Anyway, to cut a long story short, I had to explain to a Norwegian taxi driver that yes, you are my 4.30 taxi, but I had slept in….then run outside to pay him and ask him to come back again in half and hour, giving me enough time to get my shit together.

So began my trip to San Francisco 🙂 I managed to get a later airport train and still made the gate for my first flight.

Here I am now, sitting in a bar blogging and eyelids propped open with matchsticks, but man….this beer is good. Earlier I headed for probably my favourite diner and had the usual homemade meatloaf with gravy and lumpy mashed potatoes. And yes, I do have a favourite…. now on my fourth trip to this cool city.

Ok, I’m here for work. But when being sent on a business trip to San Fancisco one can’t complain 🙂

5 Responses to “Woken with start”

  1. karla said

    teehee…..sorry I made you drink so much, ahem. I hope you did go home and pack after the pub….

    At least you are having beer cheaper. Try Anchor Steam, that should wake you up.

  2. weehaggis said

    yes i did…lol. Of course wouldn’t have been so bad if I hadn’t. I could just have grabbed an empty suitcase and left…with clothes being so cheap out here and the $/NOK rate being so good.

    Already sampled the refreshments at one of the local brew pubs. They even provide u with a map to help u find ur way round them all 🙂

  3. frederico del escothes said

    very wierd …maybe we live in a parallel universe.. I too am an expat Jock sent on a business trip to San Franciso from Oslo.. I got up in time.

    anyhows how was san fran?

    I took a trip over the bay to some wee town a bit like Largs and had lobster at ‘Scamo’s for $32 which would be over $100 in somewhere like ‘Havsmak’.

    how do you find norway/oslo?

  4. weehaggis said

    As always, San Francisco was great. By US standards its pretty expensive, but compared with Norway its bloody cheap. That “wee town“, was it Sauselito by any chance? Nice place.

    How do I find Norway/Oslo? You’d be surprised. Been here for near on six years and still like it. Don’t go into Oslo much now. All this stuff in the papers about Oslo becoming junkie heaven…..you don’t quite believe it until you see it for yourself. On a recent visit, on a Saturday afternoon, was suprised to see open dealing on Karl Johans Gate….bold as brass they were.

  5. Fredericko Humidicous said

    Hi Wee Haggis

    Jada, det var Sausalito – og det var kult!

    Fikk nokon få strålende bilder fra fergen som var egentlig mer gøy en tur båt – ombord traff vi ‘local yocals’ som var kjent med stedet og anbefalte Scamos—“moonrise over alcatraz” gjennom vinduen – helt utrolige flaks. Dessvere var det kun kjerrning-sjeffen med meg, men skal ta familien- det er jo trygt om dagtid.

    Jeg flyttet fra scotland til bergen og så til ny jobb her i oslo og har sviger familien, sambo og en lite datter her som er alle norske!

    Gjerne diskutere litt om hvordan du finner nordmenn og god pub osv.

    Få tak i meg på [***email removed***] om du vil.

    med vennlige pilsen

Leave a Reply

 
