A Wee Scottish Beastie’s pad

Just another random weblog

  • My DVD Playlist

    What's in the pile of DVDs and BluRays currently sitting next to the DVD player?

    • - Star Trek Voyager - Season 7
    • - Batman: Gotham Knight
    • - Into The Wild
    • - American Gangster
    • - Serenity
    • - Heroes - Season 2
    • - The Mist
  • Blog Stats

    • 37,546 hits

Signs of a nanny state??

Posted by weehaggis on Tuesday, January 20, 2009

Something I learned recently.  Buying over the counter medication in this country is an exercise in futility.   I found this out when trying to buy something for a pretty severe soar throat.

In Norway you can buy Repsils, which you’d think were simply renamed Strepsils (look the same, taste the same, made by the same manufacturer) but no.  As the friendly lady in the Apotek (that’s a Chemist shop here) said, they’re nothing more than sugar candy.  Even she said that you can’t buy the “good” ones here in Norway.

Repsils, the Norwegian neutered version of Strepsils

Repsils, the Norwegian neutered version of Strepsils

As you can see, even though the “St” has been removed, the “S” logo remains intact.

Now look at the real thing, as available elsewhere.

The real Original Strepsils

The real Original Strepsils

You can see the “magic” ingredients listed on the box, which have been removed from the local variant.   Then there is the really good stuff….don’t even ask 🙂

Strepils Plus, the really good stuff.

Strepils Plus, the really good stuff.

There are Dual action Repsils available only from the Apotek, but don’t get your hopes up.  Again it’s only more sugar candy, but with a dash of menthol to help relieve a blocked nose.

And just for fun, here’s one you’d probably get locked up for even knowing about 🙂

Something to really numb the throat.

Something to really numb the throat.

It’s not just these throat lozenges which are no no’s.  Stuff such as Lemsip, Benylin, Sudafed which I used to consider as common remedies for cold, flu, coughs…, are all off limits.  Of course you can go to see the doctor, but unless your are death’s door you’ll likely by told to go grin and bear it and be charged your 300kr for the privelage.

Here, have a candy bar instead 🙂

One Response to “Signs of a nanny state??”

  1. kristina said

    excellent post! this is so true! I couldn’t stop laughing when I read this. I am glad that the doctors don’t hand out medication left, right and center like they do in other countries I’ve lived in, but I must say I do miss living in England at times -I didn’t realise what a luxury it was to pop into Boots for my lemsip until I moved back to Oslo. Sigh. I’m half Norwegian and even I find it hard at times with the control over ‘drugs’ here. 🙂 I’m not even allowed to buy 2 (two!!) boxes of paracetamol in one go at my local apotek for fear that I may overdose! yikes

Leave a Reply

 
